Is there a workaround for the lack of transactions in investment accounts?

JimSimpkins
JimSimpkins Member
edited July 8 in Investments
I'm new to Simplifi, and while there a lot that I already love, I discovered this evening that it's not possible to view transactions in investment accounts. I'm sure many people do what I do, using an investment account as the place to pay credit cards, write the occasional check, use Venmo or PayPal, and so on.  So I just wonder how people are getting around this limitation.  Do people somehow classify their investment accounts as checking accounts or some such? It looks like folks from Simplifi have been saying "the feature is coming" for two years now. But until then, I would love to know if there is a workaround. A ton of my everyday transactions are in a brokerage account. (Personally, I don't need to track investment purchases/sales/dividends, just the transactions that resemble those in a checking account, e.g. the monthly transfers to pay off a credit card.) Thank you for any ideas!
Tagged:

Best Answers

• DannyB
    DannyB Superuser ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Hi @JimSimpkins, this is an ongoing subject and feature request for Simplifi. It looks like you have read some of the previous conversations.  I think the problem is the way brokerage accounts run their web connections, i.e. "Direct Connect" vs "Web Connect."  See @Coach Tappan 's comment in this archived post.

Right now I don't use a brokerage account the way you describe here but in the next year or two we will start receiving payouts from our retirement accounts that will need to be tracked.

Hopefully @Coach Natalie 's comment in this active thread about this feature will come sooner rather than latter.

Hopefully someone else may have some ideas for you for the here and now.
    Danny 
    Simplifi user since 01/22
     Budget: a mathematical confirmation of your suspicions.” ~A.A. Latimer
  • Coach Natalie
    Coach Natalie Administrator, Moderator admin