Spending plan categories occasionally do not populate with transactions

Options
Chrobrego
Chrobrego Member ✭✭✭
edited March 2023 in Using the Spending Plan
I have an Auto category with four sub categories including one called 'Car Wash.'   I have two car wash expenses for this month.  I setup a 'Car Wash' planned spend of $30.  I see the $30 in my register correctly categorized for 'car wash.'  The problem is that my spending plan does not see the transaction and still says that I have $30 left.   

I'm new to Simplifi, but I'm getting frustrated in my first month.  This keeps feeling like beta software to me, and the endless pile of people posting problems with zero feedback doesn't build confidence.  
Tagged:

Comments

• Flopbot
    Flopbot Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    @Chrobrego,

The first thing I'd double-check is that your Planned Spending card is tied to the correct Category; the exact same one you categorize your transactions as.  You can most easily check that by clicking Simplifi > Spending Plan > Planned Spending > Three Dots > Edit Series. 

This is the structure of my Categories, and I know that they work with Planned Spending.  If I spend money on a car wash - my car wouldn't know what to do with itself - then it would show up on the Spending Plan.

You said "and the endless pile of people posting problems with zero feedback doesn't build confidence."

Just to ease your mind, it may seem that way right now, but rest assured that Simplifi ( @Coach Natalie ) does a very good job of monitoring this forum and actively responding.  The number of forum posts that have zero replies is consistently kept at zero).  Sure, Simplifi does have it's oddities and annoyances here and there, but ultimately, it is really good program as you get used to it - which I'm still doing too.
    Chris
    Quicken Desktop user since 2014.
    New to Simplifi in 2021.
  • Chrobrego
    Chrobrego Member ✭✭✭
    Options