When are transaction rules triggered?

Diana43
Diana43 Member
edited April 2023 in Report a Bug

I'm new to Simplifi, and very happy so far. After migrating years worth of data from Mint I spent MANY hours doing cleanup and created quite a few transaction rules. A few days later I've had a few transactions come in but they've not followed the transaction rules I've set up. I assumed as data was loaded from from my account into Simplifi the rules should run. When I reviewed the rule in question (via edit to confirm I'd set up correctly) I did see that there was one exisiting transaction that met the criteria.

Comments

• Flopbot
    Flopbot Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭

@Diana43 could you perhaps provide some screenshots of the transaction and the rule so someone can better help you? The rules trigger when the transaction syncs from your bank.
    Welcome to Simplify!

Chris
    Quicken Desktop user since 2014.
    New to Simplifi in 2021.
  • Diana43
    Diana43 Member

Here's an example of the rule I set up:

The details (where you can see the 2 new transactions match as “existing”):

The details of those 2 new transactions:

I would have expected them to be renamed to “Under Armour” and have been recatagorized to “Clothing” instead of “Shopping”.

• RobWilk
    RobWilk Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2023

I notice the source transaction has the word “Underarmour” (one word) as opposed to “under” and “armour”, could that be why?

Edit: The screenshot says I'm wrong i guess.

Rob Wilkens

• Flopbot
    Flopbot Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭

@RobWilk I think your on to something. Which screenshot caused you to question it thought; I'm not seeing that screenshot?

Chris
    New to Simplifi in 2021.
  • RobWilk
    RobWilk Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2023

@Flopbot the one that said "existing transactions that will be renamed" gave me the impression they matched already.

[corrected user tag]

Rob Wilkens

• Flopbot
    Flopbot Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭

@RobWilk I missed that. Good catch.