PayPal Mastercard: Transactions cleared when matched instead of when cleared

Options
RobWilk
RobWilk Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
edited July 2023 in Report a Bug

The discussion title sums it up.

I have a new (to me) paypal mastercard, it syncs to Simplifi… When a bank transaction (pending, in this case) matches to a transaction in Simplifi it is automatically marked as cleared…

Because of the way Simplifi works, this is a little problem with balances — A transaction is cleared early such that it is no longer applied on top of the bank balance, but the bank balance doesn't factor in pending transactions.

I get that online banking issues get different priority (because only a subset of users are affected), but i wanted to report this.

Rob Wilkens

Comments

• Coach Natalie
    Coach Natalie Administrator, Moderator admin
    Options

Hello @RobWilk,

Thanks for reaching out to the Community regarding this behavior, although I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing an issue with your PayPal credit card transactions in Simplifi.

To clarify, are you referring to a manually entered transaction being matched to a bank downloaded transaction? Or is something being matched/linked with a Reminder or something along those lines? If the former, have you tried not manually entering a pending transaction in this account in Simplifi to see how the transaction downloads from the bank (pending vs. cleared) without being matched to an existing entry? If not, let's give this a try with at least one transaction to see if we can narrow down the behavior.

Please let us know how it goes!

-Coach Natalie

• RobWilk
    RobWilk Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Manually entered transactions are matched to bank transactions and 'cleared' when they shouldn't be.
    I'll have to wait until my next purchase on that card to see, presuming I remember not to enter a transaction manually.

Rob Wilkens

• RobWilk
    RobWilk Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options