Why does this transfer to a brokerage account show up twice?

Options
DavidB
DavidB Member ✭✭
edited July 2023 in Troubleshooting

I'm new to Simplifi.

When I transfer money from my checking account to my Vanguard money market account (a brokerage account) it displays twice on the Vanguard transaction screen. Why is that? And when I click on the first one (in green) it shows as Category "Chase Checking" but when I click on the other one it says Category "Uncategorized" - what is wrong with this?

When I look at my Chase checking transactions, I see the same thing, two transactions, one green and one not gree.

David

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Coach Natalie
    Coach Natalie Administrator, Moderator admin
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hello @DavidB,

Thanks for posting to the Community regarding this issue, although I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing this behavior in Simplifi.

Although what @Flopbot suggested would be true for regular transactions as Simplifi defaults to the "Banking" view, it would not be the case for Investment Transactions, as these are separated in Investments > Transactions. With that said, are you manually entering the transactions in question or are they downloaded from the bank? Also, are the transactions linked to a Recurring Reminder? If so, how do you have the Recurring Linked Transfer set up?

If you're manually entering these transactions, I'd suggest deleting what you're seeing and then starting over by following these steps:

1. Navigate to the Checking Account.
    2. Click the blue plus sign in the upper right to create a new transaction.
    3. Enter the Payee and Amount, and then select the Investment Account for the Category.
    4. Save the transaction and click "Continue" when you're prompted to create a matching transaction in the other account.
    5. At this point, you should see one expense (black) transaction in the Checking Account that has the Investment Account listed for the Category.