Categorizing Investment Transactions

Options
joerg5510
joerg5510 Member

I am new to Simplifi coming from Mint. What is the recommended way to categorize investment transactions - buy, sell, reinvest? These are not expenses or income but labelling them as uncategorized seems to be wrong.

Thanks, Joerg

Best Answer

• DannyB
    DannyB Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2023 Answer ✓
    Options

To categorize your investment transaction you need to start with selecting an Action. There is a large list to choose from in the drop-down list when you click in the Action field. Once the appropriate Action is selected, the remaining fields will adjust to accept data appropriate for that action.

For example, Buys will need a ticker symbol our name, number of shares and price per share. Sells are similar. Interest and dividend income typically only need the ticker/name of investment… and so forth with each action.

One thing to keep in mind is that only certain actions can or will affect your Spending Plan. This support article will give you more information about investment transactions in Simplifi:

Danny
    Simplifi user since 01/22
    Budget: a mathematical confirmation of your suspicions.” ~A.A. Latimer

Answers

• DannyB
    DannyB Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

@joerg5510

Welcome to Simplifi.

You are going to find that Simplifi will be a different expereince from MInt and I hope you find Simplfi will be a great move for you.

Like everything else, there will be a learning curve as well as some adjustments to what Simplfi is all about and how it differes from other personal finace apps.

Fisrt, here is a link to the support article to help you understand and get started with investment accounts in Simplifi and there are links within that article that will take you to other support articles about Investment accounts and transactions.