How do I specify a balance for manual account? There is no field to enter the balance.

Options
Kark
Kark Member

Please let me know how I can enter a balance and change a balance for manual accounts. I am new to Simplifi (prior Mint user) and when I first created the account I was able to add manual accounts. In the process (after I specified an account name and chose the type of account) I was provided a box were I could enter a balance for that acct. I cannot find a box at all now to enter the balance so any new account is just set to $0. Because there is no box, I also am unable to edit the balances of any of my existing manual accounts. This is extremely frustrating especially as was required to pay for a year's worth of this service up front (without that being clear when signing up) and need my manual account balances to be accurate. I also cannot find any info online about this isssue and how to resolve it but have seen that Simplifi IS having issues with manual accounts. Please let me know how I can enter a balance and change a balance for manual accounts. Ty

Tagged:

Best Answers

• DannyB
    DannyB Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

@Kark Once the account is created you can affect the balance by entering transactions into the account register.

Danny
    Simplifi user since 01/22
    Budget: a mathematical confirmation of your suspicions.” ~A.A. Latimer
  • Coach Kristina
    Coach Kristina Moderator admin
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hello @Kark,

As @DannyB said, in order to change the balance on your existing manual account, you would create a manual transaction. This article provides more information on adding/editing transactions. If you're wanting to add it as an Opening Balance, you may want to set it up like the sample image below:

I hope this helps!

-Coach Kristina

Answers

• Coach Jon
    Coach Jon Moderator admin
    Options

Hello @Kark,