Confused About Credit Cards (and Transfers In General)

Options
ajbopp
ajbopp Superuser ✭✭✭✭
edited March 2023 in Bills and Income

I've been using Simplifi for a few months now, and it seems I'm still not getting something right. My Spending Plan varies wildly from one day to the next (from a couple hundred dollars available to over $1000, to minus several hundred). I think the problem may lie in how I'm implementing Transfers for credit cards and the mortgage.

I'm using this page to guide me along in how to do transfers, and below is where I think I'm getting messed up.

"When it comes to Recurring Credit Card Payments, these can also be set up the same way by using the built-in Category of "Credit Card Payment" for the Series, or you can use the name of the account that you're making the payment from as the Category of the Series. Regardless, the Ignore from Spending Plan option will be selected by default."

To me this says that when setting up a recurring transfer, I want to put the credit card account in the Account field, and my checking account in the Category field. But when I do that, it seems to operate backwards - When I look at Cash Flow, the balance of my checking account increases, while the debt on the credit card also increses. Plus, you can see by the cards below the graph that the money is flowing in the wrong direction.

If I do the opposite of what I think the paragraph above says, money appears to be flowing in the correct direction, but then I'm uncertain about what to do with the “Ignore in Spending Plan” checkbox. I get that if I include this transfer I'll essentially be counting all my expenses twice. So I choose to Ignore in SP and Reports, as it defaults to.

But then I don't understand why half the transfer is ignored and the other half is not, when I look at the Spending Plan.

Here's how I currently have the series set up.