How much does Checking Need vs Savings?

RiversideKid
RiversideKid Member ✭✭
edited May 2023 in Getting Started

Newbie here and trying to figure out the basics. My banks are all connected and I see the savings goals tied to any account, but I also see that my Spending Plan shows "Bills" and "Subscriptions" are account agnostic, meaning that these expenses come out of the running balance but no specific account.

How does Simplifi by Quicken make it simple to tell how much money I should have in checking and how much I can move to savings?

For example, I am saving for several annual expenses (some are large) and I want the funds in the savings account for 11 months before moving to checking, but if I were to add an annual bill it seems that this is always in checking. If I create a savings goal I can't figure out how Simplifi by Quicken will alert me when I need to move funds to checking. (I am still in my free trial so maybe I just haven't seen this???). Is the "move to checking" really as cumbersome as it looks where I must "Withdrawl from goal" to make the money available for transfer, then transfer the funds from account to account and then set the funds aside again in my checking account with another transaction to represent this same expense?

I must be missing something, I was trying to simplify, not make my accounts more cumbersome.

Quicken for Windows user since 1994 (After MYM for DOS)
Simplifi by Quicken since 2023

Best Answer

• DannyB
    DannyB Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2023 Answer ✓

Hi @RiversideKid welcome to Simplifi!

I'm sure you'll hear back from several members of this forum in response to your question(s). You have, like many of us, identified one of the most widely and energetically disccued issues in this forum.