Double Count Bills/Planned Spending?

Options
Diver4242
Diver4242 Member ✭✭
edited July 2023 in Using the Spending Plan

I have a monthly cell phone bill, say $35, and Netflix $16. I have both in the Spending Plan under Phone and Entertainment, respectively. If I add the cell phone as a bill and the netflix as a subscription, are they both being counted twice as far as the spending plan summary where it shows Income after Bills and Spending and then subtracts Planned Spending? I don't want that, so if this is the case how would I handle it, just do one or the other?

Tagged:

Best Answers

• ajbopp
    ajbopp Superuser ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Planned Spending only includes expenses in the defined category that are not in the Bills or Subscriptions list. So I have a subscription to Hulu under Entertainment, and an Entertainment bucket in Planned Spending. My Hulu bill is only counted in the Subscriptions, not in Planned Spending, so you have nothing to worry about in this case.

Anthony Bopp
    Simplifi User Since July 2022
    Money talks. But all my paycheck ever says is goodbye

• Coach Natalie
    Coach Natalie Administrator, Moderator admin
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hello @Diver4242,

Thanks for posting your inquiry to the Community!

The Spending Plan is designed to not double-count transactions, so you won't see transactions that have been linked to a Recurring Series in a Planned Spending expense using the same Category. Our Support Article here goes over this in more detail, and I'd also suggest checking out our Support Article on the Spending Plan here.

If you want to track spending in a particular Category and are unable to use Planned Spending to do so because you have transactions in that Category that are Recurring, I'd suggest using a Watchlist. You can even set targets for Watchlists and receive notifications when you're nearing your target.

http://help.simplifimoney.com/en/articles/3472367-using-watchlists

I hope this helps!