Bills vs Planned Spending

Options
John Dressel
John Dressel Member

I am new to Simplifi (one full month under my belt) and had understood the bills to be recurring fixed expenses (car payment, mortgage, etc) and the planned spending to be variable expenses (groceries, movies, etc). On February first I noticed that most of my bills were now also setup as planned expenses - there was a planned expense for car payment and mortgage in the amount of the recurring bill. I thought, ok, I misunderstood - planned expenses must be both fixed and variable expenses. However, when the Feb mortgage payment came through, the planned expense did not update. Same for the student loan payments. When I drill into the planned spend category for mortgage, no transactions appear in the 'last 6 months' graph and no transaction detail for Feb. For student loans, the graph shows some activity but the Dec value is low and the Jan value is $0. Something is amiss.

Tagged:

Comments

• John Dressel
    Options

Another observation: the last 6 months of 'car payment' is correct in reports and transactions; the most recent payment is from Jan when I connected the account and that transaction has the 'series' icon (circular arrows). I did notice that the Sept payment was actually recorded August 31 so I edited that to push it into Sept.

In planned spending, the 6 month graph still shows no payment in Sep. It doesn't recognize that I edited the Sept 1 transaction (moved from Aug 31). Is that data cached somewhere and if so, how do I refresh it? It also doesn't recognize the Jan payment, the only series transaction.

• UrsulaA
    UrsulaA Superuser ✭✭✭✭
    edited February 8
    Options

The transactions marked as recurring series -circular arrows - are listed under income after bills in the spending plan only. They will not appear under planned spending again as that will result in double counting.