So I have this Amazon thing....

Options
bluedef
bluedef Member
edited April 15 in Introduce yourself!

Quick intro - I'm a software engineer by trade and have used Mint since the start. Looking for other options and Simplifi might be good enough for me…

A big frustration in Mint was categorizing my Amazon spend as it's all over the map category-wise. Several years ago, Amazon used to offer an CSV export of all the spend data and that got shut-down.

For my own personal use, I wrote a Chrome plugin that does a couple of things:

1. Logs into my amazon account and my wife's amazon account and scrapes all the spend data down to a local file.
  2. Hooks into the mint.com UI and just put a simple button on the transaction dialog that allows to to hit 'match' and it hunts for a matching date/amount in the Amazon data and if found - slaps the item descriptions into the notes field.
  3. I can then eyeball the notes and manually say "oh - kids soccer shoes" - thats Kids. "oh - oil filter and tools" - thats "Auto" etc.

The best part about mint was that it was abandoned forever so the UI never changed and the code never broke - so my little plugin has worked great for me for many years.

Part of my eval for Simplifi was can I port my plugin over and get it working…. so far so good - but it's obviously very fragile and probably prone to breaking.

In poking around the forum here, it seems like this is a missing feature for Simplifi - actually I haven't yet seem a fin-software app that does it - and I understand why - there's no API to get the data from Amazon - so if I were on Quickens product team - it would be crazy to try do do something as fragile as scraping to build a 'commercial' feature like this.

There's a small part of me that is considering how to open this up to others to use, but it would be a significant undertaking not just initially - but on-going to keep up with probably breaking UI changes on both Amazon and Simplifi's side.