Vehicle Asset, Loan, and payments

Options

Let me preference this with, I got my undergraduate degree in accounting, passed the CPA Exam and practiced accounting for 5 years that was 35 years ago… now I'm a software engineer. I'm also new to Simplify (used to used Quicken 18 years or so ago).

We recently purchased a new car and took out an auto loan for it. I set up an asset and a liability for the car. The liability balance matches our online account.

I can see the transaction for the asset and it looks like it debited the asset and credited something called Balance Adjustment (whatever that is). I cannot see any transactions for the Liability, which is expected per the software documentation.

We have made a few car payments on the loan and for those transactions the car payment category is debited and our bank account is credited.

Being used to working in accrual basis, I am totally confused here on what Simplifi is doing behind the scenes. I know Simplifi will not do Depreciation Expense and Accumulated Depreciation. I would had thought the setting up the loan would have automatically set up the corresponding asset? What is the debit side of the load creation? And what is Balance Adjustment, I can't find that in the list of Simplifi categories… and when Simplifi syncs with my online loan account, what entries is it making for payments, none? When loan payments are downloaded from my bank, shouldn't those reduce the loan balance, but instead its debiting an expense?

Can someone help me understand how assets and liabilities for automobiles and the related loan payments works in Simplifi?

Tagged:

Comments

• Coach Jon
    Coach Jon Moderator admin
    Options

Hello @gskluzacek,