Hello - Budget/Spending plan suggestions (edited)

Options
Paul321
Paul321 Member

Hello. I'm new to Quicken Simplifi. It's good to be here.

My goal is to create and stick to a budget/spending plan. I have set up the accounts, categories, spending plan, savings goals, and watch list, and I'm monitoring it to ensure everything is working.

I just chatted with customer support to see if I could manage my cash flow by seeing everything on a line graph (income, bills, savings, and planned expenses). I see the projected cash flow graph in the accounts and bills and payments, but it only has bill reminders. I see the spending plan, but it only gives a month-by-month view. I was told there was no way to do this. I'll have to use the spending plan. I told the "coach" to submit a request to be able to do this.

Also, I suggested adding a button at the top of the spending plan page that says "This Month." Clicking this button would quickly take us to the current month, and we would not have to click the forward or backward buttons.

I'm sure these are not new to this community, but I thought I would share them with you.

Do you have any suggestions for a newbie?

Thanks!

Comments

• RobWilk
    RobWilk Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2
    Options

The cash flow graph should have anything that is 'recurring' - known fixed dollar amount regular schedule expenses or income. IT could have income or expenses. However, some people would prefer it shows planned spending, but for example planned spending is 'monthly' (not a particular day) so it might be difficult for the developers to decide which day to apply these to the cash flow chart (If it subtracted them on the 1st, but payday wasn't until the 15th, things might look ugly). The other thing is planned spending doesn't apply to a particular account, whereas cash flow chart is per account.

Rob Wilkens

• Paul321
    Paul321 Member
    Options