Quarterly pay in varying amounts

Options
Jeffro14
Jeffro14 Member ✭✭

I get quarterly pay that's automatically deposited and that's different amounts each time. When my quarterly paycheck appears in spending plan income, I delete it, then "pay" myself 1/3 each of the quarter's three months. Example: say i get a January 15 paycheck for $21k net. I delete it and set recurring income of $7/mo. When the April 15 quarterly paycheck arrives, we'll say it's $24k net, so I delete it and change the recurring $7k monthly income to $8k monthly income.

Should work with one-time bonuses etc too.

I'm fairly new to simplifi, so folks do you think this will work?

Thanks!

PS not familiar with how these communities work, so I posted this somewhere else a few minutes ago, probably incorrectly--sorry!

Tagged:

Comments

• UrsulaA
    UrsulaA Superuser ✭✭✭✭
    edited February 9
    Options

Welcome @Jeffro14 - thanks for your post and welcome to Simplifi. Your workaround described above works for your variable income.

Simplifi also allows the user to set up a custom income amount. I like your method as it allows you to pay attention to the transaction coming in and process it as needed.

We are here to help. I remember one of your prior posts regarding Mint imports. Glad everything got cleaned up for you.

Simplifi User Since Nov 2023

Minter 2014-2023

Questionable Excel before 2014 to present

• Jeffro14
    Jeffro14 Member ✭✭
    Options

Thanks Ursula!

I do have a related question. I've been using paycheck amounts net of taxes, so I wouldn't have to mess with all the tax issues. Do most users use gross paycheck amounts and then expense the taxes? (I'm not going to be using Simplifi in connection with my tax return)

• UrsulaA
    UrsulaA Superuser ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Most users use net pay from what I see here. I read posts here about users using gross pay and getting mixed results with it. I personally use net pay and use Simplifi's reports to tag tax deductible expenses.