How can I view monthly average spending by catagory

Options
Bythelake
Bythelake Member
edited March 27 in Categories and Tags

I am new to Simplifi. My reason for budgeting is to be able to view my monthly spending by category. Is there a way to do this in reports? When i view reports it just shows all of the individual transactions of the category for the month. There has to be a way to find this information. When you view monthly summary you only can look at 5 categories. In the spending category it list 8 categories and "Everything Else" I want to see all of the categories and how they compare to the previous months.

Comments

• DannyB
    DannyB Superuser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

@Bythelake

I'm not sure you'll find exactly what you are looking for in the current reports module.

Here is a feature request you may want to add your support to.

In the mean time, perhaps the Watchlist feature can give you something close to what you are looking for. I use Watchlists for each of my top (parent) categories. I also have a Watchlist that tracks all my expense categories, a Watchlist that tracks all my income categories and a Watchlist that combines both all income and all expense categories (The income watchlists are inverse since this feature really is set up to track expenses.)

I suppose you can create a Watchlist for each category if you want the granularity and they you will be able to compare each of the last 11 months with the current month.

Danny
    Simplifi user since 01/22
    Budget: a mathematical confirmation of your suspicions.” ~A.A. Latimer
  • RockLee
    RockLee Member ✭✭✭
    Options

I think that's a good suggestion about using watchlists by @DannyB, but be aware there's a known bug with at least watchlists with all expenses.

• Bythelake
    Options

Thank you Danny for your suggestion.

I set up the watch list but you then need to view each category to get a bearing to your average spending. this might force me to go back to ynab